Tags

176_Page 175Thursday. 25 th February. 1841. A bright sunrise. Thermometer ten degrees lower than yesterday. Winter came back again. M. H. complained of a cold night, I slept too sound to notice the change in the weather. At 11 dressed for a walk; Henry came in we went together down Broadway; but few promenading, the wind, and dust blowing. We parted at the park, I returned alone. Called on the Miss Newby’s, sat an’ hour. Made a hearty dinner on broiled, boiled chickens cannot decide which is the best, Garret thinks Broiled to be preferred. Prepared my self for spending the eve ning with mother, but gave it up, altho’ dressed, on account of the damp air. G.D.H. always ____ to my taking tea out, especially in Chelsea. He makes me quite a recluse to please him I give up all society.
Married women cannot have taste of their own but must submit to their high lords…

177_Page 176I must note the fact that Remsen is per- fectly free from cold at this time, has a good appetite, and sleeps well. Louis, and Julie, are both hearty, and eat too much. a complaint in which I indulge too much, as my complexion is getting quite rough again. It is a great trial to me, as I hate a rough skin There appears no cure for this trial. An appearance of snow to. night.