086_Page 84Sing.Sing. Monday. 26.th. July. 1841. A beautifull day, the air quite refreshing, after our showers. I slept badly at night, had unpleasant dreams, and an unquiet spirit. Arose at six, awoke Garret, walked part of the way to the boat with him. It was lovely, no doubt, and the air pure & invigorating. An air of stateliness in some-body, which I am anxious to explain away, as nothing mars ones pleasure more, than these dark clouds. I felt weak, trembling, and nervous, without appetite to.day. Did not dress for tea. Miss Heaton, took tea, spent the evening chatting in the parlour. Mrs Erving, and I on…

087_Page 85good terms. I begged her not to tell Major we had discovered his age. She smiled and promised not to do it. But women are practically faithless in keeping their [word].

