090_Page 88Sing.Sing. Saturday. 31.st. July. 1841. A storm of rain, and wind. It commenced in the night, and is a blessed thing for the country. The grass is drying up, and every thing perishing for the want of rain, but now it falls in torrents around us. This is the last day of this pleasant month, it has passed rapidly away. We find it quite cool, and keep ourselves shut up in our rooms. My head.ached this morning, so that at eleven o. clock, I went to bed, and slept untill one, when I awoke it was gone, in a great measure. My complexion is looking, and feeling much better to.day, I hope it will get smooth once more. The old lady seems to be vanishing. Garret, will come to.night, so that is great pleasure to look forward too. The children are all well, this all agrees with them finely, they are becoming none manageable also. Louis, is the most refractory. Remson, improves astonishingly, he grows quite fat, and rosy. I am still sewing on Louis white coat, it is terrible hard work for my poor fingers. Mr H. came in at tea. hour, he is quite well. Did not receive the letter I sent on Tuesday. Bought shoe…

091_Page 89for the children, all too small: some green flannel for shirts, a box seidbts powders, and some muslin.

