108_Page 106Sing.Sing. Tuesday. 7.th. September. 1841.

An overcast morning, the sun came out very hot at noon. Our house was in confusion, Mrs Ervings, departure, created quite a sensation of regret among us she appeared quite sad, and dispirited. She kissed me for good.bye. I really liked her character. Julie, and I walked to the village, I received a letter from Catharine. Paid Mr Tompkins 75.cts. for 6 rides from the Boat. We had a pleasant walk. Louis, did not complain, but was fretfull to.day. My cold is improving, and my friend left me yesterday; except slight pain in the chest. Wrote to mon mari, to day, a long letter. Spent the evening with Mrs Hale, chatting, and sewing, we…109_Page 107

talked untill near eleven oclock. I finished “Stephen’s Travel’s, to.day, and left him with regret, his company is agreeable. Lent the volumes to Mrs Hale.

