Tags

109_Page 107Sing.Sing. Wednesday. 8.th. September. 1841.

A lovely autumnal day, cooler than it has been. I walked out in the morning with my “son’s” , down the hill, they both misbehaved: Louis would go, and Remmy would not stir a step. We dined at two, our house quiet, and still. A slight knock at the door introduced Henry, David, and Eugene [all of Julia’s brothers] to my astonished eyes. They had been four hours on the river sailing over, and intended returning in the evening. We walked to the village together, I got my letter from Garret, and returned home in fine spirits. I stopped under Miss Yeo’s window and begged her to come around with her guitar. Mrs Hale gave us early tea, but the boys, would not go home, without seeing the belles, who did not arrive untill dusk. After hearing two songs I urged them to go, and felt anxious for their safe arrival. I regret not haveing urged them home after tea, how true, our pleasures always embittered by some sorrows. At this moment they are on the river, without a breeze to urge them on. Mrs Hale, got up a dance after they left, and I stood up, actually danceing a cotillion. Mr H.[Hale] played on a comb. Miss Yeo, sang a few times. At nine we all retired to our rooms. I jumped out of bed in the night to see if the moon cottillionshone bright, thinking the boys were on the river.

Cottillion: See How to Dance a Cotillion

