135_Page 133New York Friday 22nd, October. 1841.

The promise of a fair bright day, but clouds and rain came over at noon. The sudden changes are like spring. We arise at seven, having come to the conclusion of rising at that hour and breakfasting at eight, I mean ½ seven. Simon rings us up. The sun shone so brightly I hoped for a clear day, but was soon dis- appointed by the dark clouds of rain which gathered around. Bridget took all the children to mothers, Julie remained to spend the day, the boys returned at 12 oclock. Mrs. Bloodgood, came in to cut my dress, she fitted the waist of Julie’s velvet dress. I sent for one yd. of brown holland, ¾ red satin. 1 yd. muslin to trim my dress. After she left, I prepared to walk, but a shower pre- vented me. In an hour the sun shone. I attempted again to walk, but a heavy gust soon sent me home. Boughtt a pair of gloves for Sis. 2 pd. needles 25 cts. Gave Bridget 25cts. for Tickets. I am anxious to get through with all our winter prep- orations, dress is a troublesome occupation, and consumes too much of my precious time. It really becomes an evil, when allowed to take hold of the mind. I believe it to be the chief allurement, held out by our spiritual enemy, to distract the female mind from more usefull serious reflections. The “fashion of this world soon passes away,” why then do we defer our preparations for another and better home? I must examine myself on this subject, and remember the responsible duties of a Wife and mother. A cloudy afternoon, too damp for me to go up for Sis, she must remain all night.

