147_Page 145New.York. Saturday. 13.teenth. November. 1841. The promise of a fair day, but damp clouds soon obscured the sun, and turned all to gloom. Showers through the day. I arose when the bell rang, felt quite well, and happy to sit once more at the head of the breakfast table. Eugene came in at nine oclock, brought me a ‘flannel ____ coat which Catharine had kindly made me. She is remarkably neat on flannel. I hope it will preserve me from colds, as a delicate chest is an alarming symtom when the climate is so very trying to the con. stitution…

Garret much engaged all day, he has had a busy 148_Page 146week, and it is full of spirits, the prospect of selling out is delightfull to him. The rain fell to night, and the atmosphere was very damp. We retired to bed at ½ past ten. A new magazine to day Littetes.

