Tags

New York.
Friday. 19. teenth.  November. 1841.

A dull, heavy sky, dark and gloomy, rain or snow approaching. We arose as usual; I find a lovely fire and clean parlor to come and dress in.  Simon is worth twenty “Shanley’s”, she was the greatest trial we ever had in the house, and I am thankfull Garret made such a delightfull exchange. His judgement [sic] has always proved good, far superior to mine, so I am always thankfull to yield. Mr Laird took breakfast with us, he slept late. Garrets, cold almost well. Snow commenced falling at ten oclock, but it soon turned to rain and poured down incessantly all day, and night. I amused myself sewing, as my little ones now leave me an idle moment. Reading is a constant source of pleasure to me, and as I well supplied with books, my stock of general information should be unlimited.   Unfortunately I do not apply my powers of memory sufficiently [to] one thing at a time.   How desultory my tastes to day!! First “Litteles magazine; Then geography, then “Chronology”, then Biblical histories, and to conclude the list a new paper.   Too much variety is a bad thing, as one impression effaces the other and neither are durable one hour unless imposed on the mind by notes.
I felt very sleepy to night, could not sit up for Mr H. retired at ten, did not hear him come to bed. Edgar staid with us all night, took breakfast also. Children all well and noisy to day.  Louis does not like the confinement of the nursery, he is a great over-grown boy, and has lost his beauty and colour in a great measure.

