Tags

, ,

155_Page 153New. York. Tuesday. 23.d November. 1841.

A bright fine sun. shine, after the storm, air moderate. My first thoughts were for a walk in the pure air, so after arrangeing my domestic affairs, I dressed for a promenade. Julie, went with me, we rode up to Chelsea, to see mother, as Julie, would not go in any other direction. Found them all well and at home. Sat two or three hours chatting with them. Catharine had sent me a flannel …

shirt by Eugene, and a long note full of news. C. took 156_Page 154Julie to make some visits. We rode home at two, the stage uncomfortable full. I [jumped] out, and walked in preference. An impertinent man on the stage. The afternoon too damp to venture out again. Joephine Baily, paid me a visit, she shows the effects of time, and hope defered [sic]. Garret, tried to sell my velvet scarf. No go! Brought “Count Ugolino” upstairs in my “Budoir [sic]”, The canvas taken off, makes it appear much more suitable for our rooms. My dressing table moved up stairs. Garret, says I dislike to change even for the better, my local attachments are great I must confess. I called on Mrs Grey, she was not at home.

