Tags

, , ,

178_Page 176New. York.
Wednesday. 22. nd. December. 1841.
Clear and extremely cold. The streets are still covered with snow, frozen stiff. I arose at our usual hour, found the cold quite perceptible to my fingers, snatched up my clothes, and ran down in the parlour to dress. A fine fire awaits my arrival every morning. Simon does not freeze us, or provoke us “as lazy nanny” did the two past winters. I take sheer comfort this winter, good servants, and little to annoy me in the housekeeping line, gives me many pleasant hours. The “buckwheat cakes” were too good this morning, they are a great temptation to my palate. Julie, and her father indulge their appetite without fear of retribution. Mrs Mariner called in this morning, I gave her some lace for a cap, and an old veil, also a merino frock for a ____ she is nursing. I had no work to give her; indeed Bridget is unemployed one half her time, so I do not feel myself authorised [sic] to give out much sewing. Garret, invited me to walk, and in despite the cold I went with him to the park, the ladies were congregating in Broadway, altho’ red noses are not very handsome. The snow had not melted, and the walking was fine. Exercise does me much good, it seems to circulate my blood more freely, I feel almost tempted to set out again this afternoon, Mr H. has just gone for a walk. Mr H. is haveing the seams, beneath the store floor mended. G. went out to night for the purpose of getting Toys for the children. I sat alone reading the notes on Exodus, untill his return. The evening was extremely cold, and clear as crystal. Mr H. complained of not feeling well, he took some brandy, his stomach is deranged. .

