Tags

186_Page 184New York. Friday. 31. St. of December. 1841.

Mild and clear, streets wet, and muddy. This is the last day of 1841. and we must bid it an everlasting finale. It has been a year of happiness to me, and mine, and lingerings of regret are mingled with its departure. A bright sunshine awoke us early from our slumber. After breakfast I made all preparations for the New Year, then equipped myself for a walk. The walking was very muddy, and the air moist, but with India Rubbers I persisted in my walk. Brought 3 yds light fringe. Went to ask for Julies shoes at Mid- dlestons. Met Garret, returned with him, went to Clinten hall to purchase a Bible for Julia. Bought one paid 2$. 50 cts. I returned home alone felt very much fatigued, stopped in Canal St, to purchase two little books for the boys, paid four shillings. a doll, and spoons for Sis 12 cts. Went in the store with Garret, who overtook me in a toy.shop, we selected dresses and collars for the girls Bridget, and Ann. I took a collar for Maria, Mother and Maria came in after dinner, brought some toys for the children. I sent Simon to bring them up from the store, where they had all gone for a great treat. Julie, came up with a shell pincushion, a present for [Sherwood]; her favorite. She received her Aunt Maria with a good grace. Remsen liked his dog, a gift from Edgar. I went to Canal St. after mother left, purchased a pink plush shawl, 3 shil. 6d. two yards pink ribbon, 12 cents half yard lace nine pence. Ran home tired to death. Julia’s dress and shoes came home. I trimmed my light dress, and made a little cap, to put around the braid of my hair…187_Page 185Sent Bridget to buy some macaroons, and crullers. Arranged Julie dress. Eat a glass of Calves foot Jelly. Garret took oysters, and Porter. A box of honey to day fifty three pounds, G, bought it from Mr Lakes. Thus finishes the last day of the old year, a day of worldly cares, anxieties, and pursuits. Is it not our duty to pause, and think ere we pass the threshold of a New Year, whether these visionary thoughts should occupy so much of that precious time, which is given to us for higher pursuits then in the years, which have passed so lightly over me, as to leave me scarcely conscious of their loss; Can I account to God, for these “happy years”, seasons spared to me for for the good of my soul.

