pg 33Saturday. 12.th. February. 1842.

A mild rain, and very misty.

I spent two hours writeing to Maria Hasbrouck, the news of the day. She wants something to cheer her up. Must send for Julie, to.day, should the rain cease. Fell tired stooping over my pen.

The sun shone forth warm, and bright at noon, the
streets soon became dry. Simon, took the boys to
walk. Garret and I set out for a ramble down Hud-
son Street, and so up to Broadway. We met a great
display of fashion, or rather saw it from the unfashion-
able side of the street. My lungs still delicate.
Bridget, brought “Sis” home, very unwillingly. She
cried all the way home. Had a bundle of little
presents to arrange in her baby.house. I sent mother
a slice of cake, to lunch on. Julie, did not dis-
play the least pleasure, or affection in seeing us again
She kissed her brothers, after a short time.pg 34

I do not think her a child of “ardent feelings,” perhaps she will change. It is natural to like
those who indulge and caress us, without treating even our faults with severity. At her grandmothers she is the pet, and commits few faults, at home
the boys torment her, and her father hastily punishes her, without considering the evil affects of injustice. I am accused of partiality, but is
not so, I see the faults of all my children; and
love them equally.

The river is open to Albany, and navigation free
once more.

