pg 39Saturday. 19.teenth. February. 1842.

Raining violently, but mild again.

The howling of the wind, and pattering of the rain, was violent through the night, and on
my arrival in the parlour to dress, a tremendous dark shower of wind, and water, seemed to drown all before it.
I eat three cakes this morning, thereby trans-
gressing my rules; and takeing undue advan-
tage of a tolerably clear spell in my phiz.
I often feel very uneasy about myself, as I am
very thin, and it would seem consumptively in-
clined. The eruption on my face, forbids my
drinking porter or useing many article which no
doubt would strengthen my frame. I am
in the hands of God, and must await his
just dispensations. Youth, health, beauty,
and worldly advantages have all been mine,
can I hope to retain them always “Shall we
receive good of the hand of God, and not receive
evil also.”

The storm passed away at three oclock, and a bright
sunny afternoon succeeded the gloomy morning.
It was not cold but dry and pleasant for walking.
I did not go out, keeping on the safe side, to
avoid if possible any increase of cold, wishing to
enjoy the priviledge [sic] of going up to the house of God.
On the morrow.
Garret, brought me the Herald, containing an amuse-
ing account of the Boz Ball”, it was a great squeeze,
with a short allowance of real pleasure.
The dinner, was more intellectual, and some of the
speaking good. Boz acquitted himself well, and com-
plimented “Irving” unmercifully.

Garret read for me in the evening, while I dar-
ned stockings for the children. Bought me some
yarn, mon mari. Julie, complained of not
feeling well to.day.

