pg 43Thursday. 24. Februrary. 1842.

A mild day, almost too warm for winter gear.

Mr H. went to his new store this morning for the first, it appears strange to me, to be separated from him so long. I think we shall lose many happy hours, by this new arrangement. We have really enjoyed life the last four years, and been constantly together. The children mourn their fathers loss and feel sensibly the want of the store, to play in. Louis, feels quite sad on the occasion.

I sent the children to walk out, Remsen pre
ferred staying at home with me.
At twelve I rode up to Chelsea, went to see
Mrs Remsen, to tell of Mrs Lee’s promised visit.
But did not find her there.
Spent an hour at mothers, found her looking
pale, but fat. Henry, shut up in his room,

with a sore throat. He has been very much pg 44
afflicted, and has not been out since new. years. day. They are all complaining of colds, but Garret says it is an old story. When he has a cold he never complains, or nurses it, but walks it off. Last night I made him confess to the fact. We dined at three, but Mr H. was not here to the minute, this will be another sorrow to me, but I must expect these things. Julie, and I walked to Broadway in the afternoon, she complained of fatigue, and is
a poor walker. Does not like the exercise.

Garret, looking over his old papers to. night,
and consigning them to the flames.
A melancholy task, many of the writers are
now moldering in their graves.
We preserved several letters, written by his
father.

I felt fatigued, and sleepy to.night.
Commenced makeing a collar for Louis.
My time passed away very swiftly, but not
satisfactory, too many worldly thoughts are
encouraged, and a system of action lost, in
the confusion.
Without system, the mind dissipates its
strength on variety, without gaining any perma-
ment good.

Mr H. gave Louis, two lozenges to night, they
affected him thoroughly, before morning.
He has not complained since.

