pg 70Thursday. 24.th. March. 1842.

Unpleasant, cold day. Clouds threatening snow, or rain.

My day was passed within doors, attending the children, mending Louis clothes, and takeing seidbts powders. A spare moment did not occur, throughout the day. Mrs B. cut a dress for Julie, a mous de laine.
Garret, busy to day, he came up to dinner
punctually. the corn beef, and cabbage fine for
his taste, I did not feel the least relish for
dinner.
G. gave me three dollars for pin money.
Louis complaining this afternoon, his father
gave him “two lozenges”, to remove if possible
his complaint. Six pence, reconciled him to
his dose, he does not like them in the least
Had some muslin put in water, for G’s shirts,
he has promised to have some made out.

This relieves me, as altho I wish to make thempg 71
the undertakeing appears too much. My work basket at present is full, and is never empty. The flushing in my face makes a sitting posture peculiarly unpleasant to me for any length of time, so that I cannot accomplish all I wish.
We did not walk out this unpleasant day,
I felt no inclination, and did not care to expose the children.
All the Spring bonnets were to be opened to.day.
The clouds are not very auspicious.
My time has been occupied in sewing, I have
not had leisure to read, or improve my abilities
which are sadly in want of polishing. To in.
struct my children, I must nessecssary [sic] reuse
my old studies, to enable me to ensure proper
ly all their enquiries. their questions are some
times rather puzzling. “Mother how big is the
world”, Louis asked me this morning. and I
could not remember, that it was 25,000 miles
in circumference, or 8000 in diameter.

Numbers often escape my memory, because
I have not pursued a system in cultivating
this faculty. It is rather late to begin the
elementary studies, but I must go back with
as good a grace as any dunce, of thirty. three
could be expected to do.

The rain, and hail begins to patter on the win.
dows, the air is chilling, and damp.
A bright fine, smileing faces, news.papers,
and work, drives away all gloom, and bids
defiance to the storms. We hear, but do not
feel its fury the power that preserves us,
keeps us in peace.

My feet were so cold I put them in hot
water to.night. G. rubbed me all over with
a [crest] towel to circulate my blood.
A natural phenomenon to night, but it
is too __tie to transcribe, the sky clouded

