Tags

,

pg 71Friday. 25.th March. 1842.
Good Friday
A storm of rain, dark and wintry sky.

I could scarcely get my “better half” up this dark morning.
Bridget, went to her wash.tub; two hours were
spent with the children, and two writing up
these “saying, and doings.”
The rain still continues, and I have just
consoled myself with a tumbler of “Cream of
Tarter, if “mon mari”, knew it, he would exclaim
“ do Ma give up quackery.”
Garret, came home early to dinner, it was so
dull down town, he came home to be cheered by
his noisy, rosy children. The rain, and damp
makes us all feel chilly.
I spent an hour after dinner mending a ter
rible [rent] in his coat. My tailor business
increases daily, when Louis and Remsen wear
cloth; I do not know what will become of me!!

Mr H. went out in the evening to enquire afterpg 72
some goods, Simon had carried through the
heavy rain. They were not injured.
I put all the children to bed to.night.
They are no trouble, but as sweet as sugar.
A slight thunder squall this afternoon.
“good Friday,” has not been kept to.day
as strictly as usual, the inclement weather
prevents those who are inclined, from going
to Church.

Read the Life of “Mrs Hermans,” to night.
She is a delightfull poetess, her works so
220px-Felicia_Hemans_2full of Truth, piety, and soul.” Her spirit
must have been pure indeed, to have poured
itself forth, in such strains of more than
human sweetness. She was the mother
of five sons, and died in the year 1835.
Her days were passed in seclusion, and her
acquaintance with contemporary writers, very
limited.
_________________________
For more on the life of Felicia Hermans – see Wikipedia or
A Celebration of Women Writers.

