pg 93Friday. 22.nd. April. 1842.

A summers day; uncomfortably warm.

Awoke early this lovely morning, all creation
seems to exult in the glorious smile of Heaven.
Julie, and I dressed to go down to the store.
I did not feel strong, but took egg and port,
to bolster me up for the jaunt.
Walked to Miss W. my Amazone finished.
Met Mrs Ewing, had a chat with her; she looks
thin, and not as well as last summer.
Rode to the store, or rather “Maiden Lane”
had no difficulty in finding the place.
Made an agreable [sic], and profitable visit.
Selected two muslins for myself, two for the
children, and one piece calico, and three silk aprons.
Walked home, stopped at Mrs W, ordered my
bonnet trimmed, and sent home.
The heat was so oppressive, I could scarcely
get home, and Julie was ready to drop.

pg 94Saw Edgar Hasbrouck, in the store, he looks thin
and sallow.
Laid an hour on the sofa to rest, sat down
to my work; heard Julie her lessons.
Bought, them each an orange.
The children are getting very restless,
and unmanageable, this warm weather.
I can scarcely keep them under control; the
yard, is a great temptation for them to
disobey orders.

The want of another servant disaranges [sic]
all my quiet plans. Economy alone prevents
me from adding another to our household.
The thought of moving; begins to pre.
sent itself in a most formidable manner.
One week of quiet is all that remains to
us now, and then ^we set out once more to
seek a new home: I hope it may prove
as happy a one as this, has been to us.

