Tags

, , , ,

026_Page 24Friday. 12.th. August 1842. Marble Town.

A damp day, with showers.

We were all kept within doors, to amuse ourselves as well as we could. The children are enchanted and run about like wild deer. Remsen, is not quite well, I gave him some peppermint. Margaret gives us plenty of sweet corn, and I drink nothing but Milk, at every meal. My appetite here is never as good as at home, the “flies are more numerous than the hairs of our heads,” and I am really afraid to open my mouth for fear of swallowing a “family party,” or “sours [sic].”
Hard work, and poor help is the order of the day here, every one’s hands are in requisition, but mine.
We found a backgammon board a great source of amusement; our evenings
were spent in this unprofitable manner.
Mrs. Bykoup, daughter, and two sons came I after tea, very unexpectedly
to Margaret. A fresh supper was prepared, and our family circle
enlarged considerably, by this new addition. Margaret, counted 27 in
family.

