Tags

,

027_Page 25Marble.Town
Tuesday. 16. August. 1842.

At ten oclock we set off for Kingston, I shed a few tears at parting from our children for the first time, It was a hard struggle; to leave them, although in the best hands. Bridget,
is so trusty, there was no danger. We had a charming ride to Kingston, with the Drs gay horse. I did not feel very well, and took “Port Wine” in Kingston. Arrived in time for the Boat, the Troy, was obliged to run to get on Board. We dined, and left it at three oclock. at Catskill. Took the stage for the mountain house,” twelve miles distant. Our stage was crowded , and the heat almost insuperable. I felt is sadly my complex-
ion feeling heated, and uncomfortable. It was night when we reached our destined house of rest. The house looked beautifull, and we had a fine supper. We formed and acquaintance,
with our fellow travelers “Mr, and Mrs Brown. from Charleston.
They were very genteel people. I must not omit to record
mountain housethat Mr. H walked up the mountain, the last part of our ride
was delightfull, and romantic. G. offered me a dram, on
the way up the mountain, but I could not swallow the dose.
We were all charmed with the house, but the fog hid the view
from our expecting eyes. The moon, would occasionally give us
a glimpse of her face, and a merry party citizens laughed away
the evening. Our bed.rooms were good, and large, so that our
repose was sweet in this high region of “purity and repose”.
My bones ached, but I thought the ride perhaps had been too
much for me. Mon Mari, said it would do me good; but his
doctoring is not the best in the world, according to my tastes.
We both liked the accommodations much.

Thomas Cole - A View of the Two Lakes and Mountain House, Catskill Mountains, Morning - Brooklyn Museum

Thomas Cole – A View of the Two Lakes and Mountain House, Catskill Mountains, Morning – Brooklyn Museum

