Tags

044_Page 42New.York.
Wednesday. 21. st. of September. 1842.
Clouded sky, cold air, and high winds, with bright gleams of sun.shine at intervals. I sit down this morning, to write up the medley of affairs which have transpired since my return from the country. Thirteen days have elapsed sine my last entry, and in all this time my journal has been neglected, but not for gotten, As the ghost of its empty pages, have haunted me by day, and night. But to begin where I left off, the 8th. of Sep. On the 9.th. I made my peach preserves, 19 lbs. Sent a fine basket full to Mother a present. Some ripe to eat. It was a day of hard showers, but warm and unpleasant. September 10. Saturday. Went up to mothers with Louis and Julie found all well. Met John Brincherhoff and Miss Fanny Moore.
Sunday 11. th. A fine day went to Church in the morning. Monday. 12 th. Excessively hot. Maria, came down to see the “procession in honour of “Mr Tyler”. His toast having been dishonored at the dinner given to “Lord Ashburton”, by the “merchant princes”. The ladies turned out in fine style in spite of the burning sun, which must have scorched them considerable. I went to bed early sick from the intense heat, the children seem to feel it sadly, and long for the pure county air. Tuesday 13. September. It rained, cooling the air. Wednesday. 14. Received a note from C. telling me Mrs Brincherhoff and daughter, Miss Moore, Mr L. M. Ferdinand, and Bell, Miss Onderdonks, and all their own family, would take tea with me rain, or no rain. I went about prepareing, and was busy all the morning, preparing. They came at six in an omnibus and left at nine oclock. Some of the guests did not come; our evening was pleasant, but short. Mr. H did not get home untill, eight oclock. He knew nothing…

045_Page 43of my company. C. made tea in the basement, Simon, and nanny handed it around. My cake cost one dollar, and was delightfull. The children behaved very well. Julie sang. Thursday. 15. The rain still continues, we think it our Equinoctial storm. I cleaned up my closets to.day. Friday. 16. Unpleasant still, raining and damp. My Friend. I wrote to Maria Hasbrouck. this morning. Saturday. 17. A fine clear day, some dark clouds flying about. Julie, and I went to see Mrs Anelli, sat an hour with her, from there rode to “Aunt Bells”. Called on Mrs Brown, my traveling companion, she has not arrived yet. We rode home, and found it cool Sunday. 18. A fine cool day, and full moon at night. We went to Church in the morning, Mr May preached. I went to bed after dinner, and slept two hours. Moschetoes [sic] torment us dreadfully at night; the poor children, are almost devoured by them. Monday. 19. Clear, and cold enough for fires. I run to the kitchen fire constantly to thaw my blood. Tuesday. 20.th walked up and back again from mothers The first in four years. Julie went with me, she complains of a very sore mouth. Met the Miss Hornblowers, and Mrs Woodriff, and baby at mothers. Had our kitchen chimney swept to.day. Paid four shillings
I wrote all the afternoon, felt very cold in the evening.
slept soundly at night, but found my throat very sore this morning, and quite hoarse in the bargain. Remsen, has a bad cold also, Mr H. recovering from his. Ann Shannely, has a young son a seven months baby. I have been trimming a little dress with lace for her. Will go to see her this afternoon. Did not feel well enough to go out this afternoon, had a “fire” built in the basement, it would not burn untill evening. Garret was delighted to see it, and made a fine supper on oysters. We spent the evening reading newspapers. Bought me a bundle of spools tops, canton flannel 10 yrds. Cotton drilling and curtain binding.

