Tags

, , ,

051_Page 49Thursday. 29. th. September. 1842.

A fine, cool day, temperature about right for me.
I did not feel well when I arose, have not been strong the past two days. Was engaged all the morning, and in fact all the day, prepareing for my guests. Bridget excited herself, and performed her duties well; but all the head work devolves on me, and I am miserable on such occasions. Sent a note to Bell, with an invitation for Mrs [Trirelle] her friend, also a “toilette cover” as a present. She sent me an acceptance. Dispatched a note to Chelsea; they are all complaining of colds. Julie, and I dressed in white, as five oclock, and at seven our friends arrived. Mrs [Trirelle], did not accept; so our party was quite small. Mr & Mrs Brown, Bell, Catharine and Henry composed our party. Ferdinand, came in late. We took tea in a sociable way, around the table, as I wished…
052_Page 50to make my guests as comfortable as if at home. Our table was nicely spread, every thing on it of the best; and well arranged. Mr B. is a host within himself, so intelligent, original, and comic in his character, we were all entertained, and kept in a good humour by his witticisms. Mrs B. looked sweet, I did not think it possible, dress, animation, and health, could have improved her so much. I love her tone, and pronunciation, very much, it goes to my heart; and her details of sorrows gained for her, my sympathy, and friendship. She said her evening was pleasant, and eleven oclock had almost arrived; before our circle was broken. I gained the promise of at least one more visit; before she leaves New.York. Julie, looked sweet, and took Mr & Mrs B. to see her baby.house. Louis was rather troublesome to.day, he does not mind having his ears boxed; as any other punishment. Mr H. bought me some elegant peaches, and pears, for the evening; they ^were superb, and patronized considerably. I gave each one, a load to every home. The still champagne, was quite gentle in its influences no one seemed too much exhilarated. I had some domestic trouble this evening, with the cook, she is a fretfull old maid, and fond of grumbling. My patience with her as is almost exhausted, and I gave her a sever reproof, for her impertinence. It is impossible to keep calm on all occasions, they are so ungratefull, and provoking; these “Irish folks.” Bought a pair of shoes for Remsen to.day. Mr. H gave me five dollars to buy cake.

