Tags

, ,

074_Page 72Saturday. 19. teenth. November. 1842.

Extrememly cold, and very high wind. Julie, and I foolishly enough went out, but were almost frozen, and blown away. We walked up to see Mrs P Vanzant, she was out, also Mrs [Hehesslien]. Thought of old times, and concluded to call and see “Mrs [Mauran]”. We sat an half hour with her, she appeared very glad to see me, but is a cold hearted, worldly woman for all that. Her style of living is luxurious in the extreme, and her person the personification of “good cheer”. She was surrounded by all the elegencies of life, her children not handsome, but robust. Mrs Anthon, and daughters came in, at the same time I did, they were on their way to see “Dr Anthons’, who was quite sick from his exciting visits to “Mr Colt” Mrs M. promised to return my visit soon. Julie, and I ran home almost perished, the poor little soul cannont endure the cold. My new bonnet, is not becomeing, and the plume so delicate as to be half destroyed already by the wind this morning. Two new caps came home for the boys price 6$. A new pair cloth pants for Louis from the tailors. A cold night, comfortables necessary. Garret does not admire my bonnet, this provokes me, as I wished in particular to suit his taste, and get something uncommonly handsome. The price should have commanded a superb affair, but I must try and be more economical another season; and then perhaps my regret will be less, if it should not suit. I paid the Herald currier 50. cts. to day. Owe him eight cents on the next month.

