Tags

,

094_Page 92Wednesday. 28.th. December. 1842.

A very fine day, but cold.

The streets were dry, and filled with ladies to.day. I dressed Julie, and went with her to see Mrs Anelli, we sat a short time, and looked at a beautifull painting just finishing by Mr A. I looked at some head.dresses, they were all too dear- My generous husband, game me money to purchase any thing I chose, but I could not make a selection, as Julie became cold, and wished to get home. Met Maria, she returned home with us, knowing her desire to go to the concert, I asked G. to take us. The room at Niblo’s was brilliantly nibloslighted, and filled with people. The Brahms, Mrs Sutton, and daughter, did their best to entertain us, but I was ennui (1) before the first act. We returned home at ten, I do not think another concert will tempt me this winter. Made our supper on ham and bread, not nicely cut. Mr H. brought me three splendid pocket handkerchiefs, to choose from.

___________________________
(1) ennui- boredom

