095_Page 93New.York. Friday. 30. th. December. 1842.

A sun.shine, the ground covered with snow. I jumped up late this morning, my complexin [sic] rough, and more broken out than usual. This fact, worries me as on “New Years day.” I should like to appear well, if possible. Cannot get out, altho I have two purchases to make yet. A slight pain in my breast, warns me to keep within doors. I am quite in despair not haveing my dress arranged for the reception of my friends. The three elegant presents made me by my dear G. as still in my drawer, to select one for myself is a hard task; the other two are destined for other hands, than mine. I have never had so much in my power, as on this holiday occasions; G has been so very liberal to me; but in proportion as he is generous, I feel stingy. Still there are some to whom it would be a pleasure for me to present a handsome “souvenir,” feeling as I do under some obligation to them. Mrs Anelli, stands first on this list.

 

096_Page 94Saturday. 31. st. December. 1842. New York. 57 Van dam st

Bright sun shine, and quite moderate.

I went out soon after breakfast to make some purchases, selected a pair of mitts worked with gold. ten shillings Two head dresses 2$ 25 cts. Lace Cape. 2$. Ribbon and common Cap 6 shillings Pilgrims Progress. 25.cts. The streets very very wet, and my india Rubbers alone preserved me from getting wet. Fatigued myself very much, left my handkerchief at “Becks”; Simon went to get it for me. Sent for my Cake, was disappointed, could not have it untill Monday Morning, an apology from “I. Sayers.” G. procured three kinds of choice wine, to fill our Decanters. Laughed at my mear Cape;. made me dissatisfied, when I found it would not wash. G spent the evening out, and I sat meditating on my own folly. Bridget making an ottoman for Sis; not very splendid in execution, but pretty in design. Mr H. in a very happy mood, and I of course simpathized [sic] in all this pleasures. We sat over our Bright happy fire side, looking back on the past, and hopeing heaven, would grant us as much joy in years to come, as had fallen to our share in those we had spent together. I can truly say my chief, and sunniest days have been passed under my husbands roof; altho they are not in the first bloom of Youth, yet they are far far happier, than they ever were then. No dark clouds have passed over our household, all has been Health, Peace, and Prosperity; to say that my wants are anticapated, would not be saying too much, in praise of my Generous, thoughtfull husband.” “To make all Happy” is his motto; and Providence hitherto has smiled on his kind, benevolent heart. We bid adieu to this year with mingled emotions, of gratitude, and regret, and anticipated the future with hope and confidence in that Parent, who gives to all their “Meet in due season”. Farrwell! a kind farewell, to 1842.

