Tags

, ,

106_Page 104Monday. 23. of January. 1843.
Another lovely day.
A cloud still hangs over our domestic skies,
this throws a gloom over every thing to me.
I can enjoy nothing to.day, unless the scene changes.

Steam.boats reached Albany on Saturday, but
little ice impeded their progress, this is an achievement wonderful to relate.
At twelve oclock, I rode down to see Isabella, found her out, but after sitting awhile in the parlour, she came in. We spent two hours in chatting over matters and things.
The weather changed, and on my return I looked for a snow.storm.
It was past three, when I arrived at home, the stages are so pro-…

107_Page 105vokingly slow. Mr H, was at home, silently awaiting my arrival.
I found the cards of two old friends, Mrs Van Zant, and her sister. G. did not go down after dinner, but read the newspapers at home; I wished to make it agreeable if possible.
Sewed on my new Linen, afternoon and evening.
Mr H. read Josephus. aloud.

