110_Page 108Friday. 27th. of January. 1843.

andrew

Commercial Advertiser, 28 Jan. 1843

 

 

 

A stormy sky, and rain at intervals; but not very cold. I went in the kitchen to make pies spent two hours, prepareing plumb tarts, and apple tarts. Julie, insisted on my sending to Chelsea for her little friends, so in defiance of the dull weather, I dispatched Simon with a note. On his return, He brought me the sad new of the death of “Andrew On- Derdonk, by drowning. This was a shock to me indeed, and I could scares believe the intelligence. Catharine, went around to Mrs Remsens, and there heard of the disaster, but the particulars did not reach us untill the next day. He was comeing to the city from his farm with some produce, when at two oclock in the day, a sudden squall of wind capsized the sloop, throwing it on a sand bar, leaving seven unfortunate victims to the horrors of their situation. Four of the passengers were saved; but poor Andrew, delicate from his birth, could not survive the cold, and fatigue of five hours intense suffering, and dropped from the Captains grasp to a watery grave. The dispensations of providence are, truly mysterious, but it is better to fall in the hands of god, than in those of men; and it is the consolation of his friends to know, that as his body was beautiful, and his spirit purified in this world, so at this hour he may be blessing god, for the bliss of heaven, altho! purchased by a few hours of pain. I could not reserve my tranquility for many days, as the thought of this bereavement, rested like a dark cloud Over my soul, and when I look on my fair young boys I ask myself, what Will their destiny be, will there lives be as free from reproach as the young friend, we are now mourning over.

