Tags

, , ,

118_Page 116Thursday.9. th. February. 1843.
A mild day, snow melting. The night was very cold.
I determined to go out to day and buy Louis some stockings. Julie went with me, and we paid a visit to old “Greenwich St house,” where I had spent four years, and where Remsen was born. It looked dismal enough in comparison to our present home, so mean, small, and shabby. We sat some time with Mrs Clarke, the present occupant; who finds it too large, a palace when compared to the house she left. Called on Mrs Lambert, she is a pleasant women and has a fine fat baby.
I purchased four pair woolen stockings, two pair in each store. We then returned home with our bundle, and concluded to go up to the Miss Onderdonks. Our walk was pleasant, but the streets rather wet.Sat an hour with Maria, she was cheerful and spoke of Poor Andrew, not with tears but cheerfully. Spoke of the pleasant evenings he had spent at our house and of his virtuous life. I saw the four Miss O.’s, who were visiting them. Time has changed them sadly. Julie and I returned home to witness a sorry sight, The fulfillment of my last nights dream. My beautifull new parlor carpet, burnt most terribly.
This was a shock indeed, I having taken the precaution
before I went out, to lay down an old comfortable to preserve
the Rug. When Simon entered the parlour the room
was filled with smoke, and the comfortable just in a
blaze. The floor was burnt, and the carpet very much,
but fortunately it can be mended.
Mr H, cut the piece out, and intends haveing it mended.
We spent our evening alone, Mr H. reading aloud and I sewing
At ten we took a supper of oysters, mine were cooked,
But G. swallowed his from the shell; he was faint for
the want of something to eat.

