Tags

142_Page 140Wednesday. 29. th. March. 1843.
A clear, bright March day, wind high and gusty.
All well to.day; but I am afraid my _____ are
more prominent than ever. Eggs, are our morning relish at present. Remsen loves them dearly. A Mrs Reding from “High Falls” called to see Simon [servant], she sat some time in the parlour. Had a sick husband in the hospital, and was on her way to see him, poor soul.
Miss Babcocks, called to pay me a visit, they sat an hour. I pulled out one of Julia’s under teeth this morning. Sent a note up to see after C.s cold. She is much better. Felt much like a stroll in Broadway, shall wait untill my best-half comes home for permission, as he forbid me to expose myself.
The sun shines delightfully at this moment; my parlours look equally delightfull, and Julie, lies on the rug in a very picturesque manner, flat on her stomach, reading the last magazine.
G. wishes me to answer the Drs letter, but I do not know
what to say; on a subject so surpriseing; to my nerves.
The whole affair lies on my shoulders, so “Mon Marie” say’s,
and I must settle it according to my own taste.
Mr H. wrote to the Dr and granted the request he made
to receive Helen as an inmate of our house.
I thought the letter admirably written, just as it should be.

Two bottles “Indian Balsam” came home to.day.
I commenced on one bottle immediately. G. has bargained
with Mr U. to perform a miracle for twenty dollars.
[Levis] remedy must remain in status quo, as they both think,
that it is Mr U. and G. The Balsam will do the business.
Sat sewing all the evening in our warm basement,
felt fatigued at ten, and felt prepared for bed.

