186_Page 184Tuesday.27. June. 1843.
A burning sun to.day.
Rain much needed to refresh the grass,
which is almost burnt up in the yard.
I walked out with Maria H. and Helen, to select a muslin for M. returned home much heated. The Miss Onderdonks called to see me.
I went to Mrs Hassells, and purchased a shirred
bonnet. Five $. Have felt the heat excessive to.day. could do nothing but read the “Neighbors (1)” a most refreshing work. A beautiful addition to our library to.day. I shall be compelled to give up my boudoir, to these new comers.
A reconciliation to night Life is indeed sunshine, and
storm, but it is our own faults if the storms continues  too long.

_________________________________

(1) Grannarna, 1837, transl. by Mary Howitt as The neighbours: a story of every-day life; in two volumes, 1842

 

 

