Tags

205_Page 203Wednesday.2.nd. August. 1843.
Cool, and overcast sky.

I went with Garret down Broadway at nine o’clock. Shopped for silk to cord my brown Ballzarine. Purchased 5/8 of a yd. 50 cts. Had my waist cut, returned home and found it very pleasant, but streets empty.  What has become of all the folks? our city is certainly deserted by its inhabitants.
Gave Julie her lessons on my return.
She will make a first rate French scholar; so apt at the pronunciation, which usually [puzzles] older heads Maria, and Remmy went up to Chelsea, I
sent some cake, crackers, and papers for mother, also a note. I feel a longing for the pure country air, both for myself and the children; fear G. will not take us out this season it will disappoint me sadly.
This spring and summer hase [sic] has been rendered disagreable [sic]
to me, by the affairs of other people, which has kept us
all in confusion, and deranged our plans.
So much for haveing our large house and spare rooms,
I love to entertain my friends and give them all
the pleasure in my power at times; and seasons, convenient,
but family duties must be attended to first.
Young children require much attention, they are too
apt to indulge bad habits in the presence of strangers;
mine have mortified me sadly this summer.
Julie, in particular by her improper speeches.
Went to Niblo’s Garden to hear the French Troupe
in the musical Opera of “Anna Boleyn”. The most crowded, &
elegant audience this summer showered “Madam [Calre],” with roses

