Tags

209_Page 207Wednesday.9.th. August.1843.

Raining violently; quite sultry.
We overslept ourselves this dull morning. I arranged my drawers; gave Julie her “French Lessons. A cloud in the horizon Alas! Alas!
Have no taste for any thing. to.day. All things _____
These feelings should not meet encouragement, as they proceed from ill directed passions, which reason condemns and religion abhors. Gratitude to God for the immeasurable mercies around us, should brighten the darkest spot in our souls, and to love, and forgive one another, is but an imitation of the “Divinity which stirs within us.”

__________________________

Thursday. 10. th. August. 1843.
Still raining at intervals.
We spent our time sewing, and reading.
I looked for Catharine to dinner, but she did come.
The sun set clear this evening.
The horizon of home was bright also, this gives all things
to my vision, and makes darkness bright.
Julie, taken with a chill, a fever followed
the damp weather has affected her. I kept her in my bed.

_________________________

Friday 11. th. August. 1843.
A dull sky in the morning, but a
lovely clear sky at sunset.
I went up to Mr Parmly’s. with Maria H. sat two hours
waiting to see him in the morning. At five o’clock,
went up again for exercise, haveing eaten a hearty dinner.
Mr H. very attentive to day, a fine joke for us both.
Anna Wilson took tea with Julie, who in spite of a dose of
rhubarb, enjoyed herself very much. They sang together
I went to bed much fatigued.
The moon magnificent to night. G. walked out.

