Tags

,

228_Page 226Saturday. 9. th. September. 1843.

[Words along the edge of this diary are covered
by tape and are not able to be read.]
Bright, and cool, almost too cool.
The wind very high
Dear little Remmy better this ___
he was feverish all night. I gave him one spoon_
syrup of rhubarb as we thought three times [insuffient] for the oil to affect him. He looks very pale but free from fever. at present slept in my bed.
We all love little merry Rem and think him [unsur-] passed, either in beauty or goodness. Such as sweet___   __ting little face, and such dark melting eyes, it___

_________________________________

229_Page 227 (1)my heart, when sickness overtakes him.
This is the first indisposition he has had this summer.
After breakfast Julie and I went out to walk
we found Autumn upon us in truth. The wind was
high and chilling. We called at Mr Anellis, sat a few
moments in his studio, he is in good spirits, and
has plenty of work engaged. Mrs A. from home.
I begged him to come and varnish our pictures.
From there we went down to Broadway, met more
ladies than usual, Miss Burgoyne’s among the num-
ber. Returned home, called to see Miss Halstead, who received us very kindly. She is looking very thin, and will evidently die young. The bleeding at her lungs haveing attacked her several times. The death of her mother affected her sadly; she shed many tears.
Consumption will carry many of us to our graves.
She is young to die; and I sympathize with her
sorrows; which appear to be many.
Took my dear little boy in my room, he
fell asleep on my bed, and looks beautifull with his
dark silken eye-lashes; resting on his pale cheeks.
Obliged to shut up my room to help warm we all feel
the great change from extreme heat to cooler breezes.
Mother took tea with me, Eugene also. She is
looking very well, quite pretty. Maria not well, billious
affection. Remson, rather fretfull he went early to bed,
eats nothing, and sleeps restlessly
Mother thought our silver splendid. She went home
early by moonlight
I went to bed cold, and could not get warm.

 

