Tags

pg 018 Sunday. 5th. 1843. November.
The coldest day we have had this fall.
Thermometer at sun rise 7 degrees below freezeing point.

I found difficulty in ariseing from my
pillow, altho the cold had penetrated our blankets.
Hoped for a quiet day with G. but alas! alas!
The arrival of M H [ Maria Hasbrouck, Garret’s sister from Stone Ridge] and Miss Dewitt put to flight all my placid dreams. They were unexpected guests.
The cold prevented my going out or rather the additional care of housekeeping.
Remsen quite sick with a heavy cough, we give him
squills and soak his feet.
Louis, is rather better, but poor “Sis” just commences her siege. I passed an unquiet day.

______________________________________
*Squills: is a common name for several lily-like plants, some used medicinally.

