Tags

pg 024Thursday. 30. th. November. 1843.tillman-school-draw-300dpi-1024x1014
Pavements wet; and air cool, and
chilling. Sun.shine, at intervals.

Henry came in to sit an hour, or two. I took Remsen, and went up to Mrs Okill’s, went in the school rooms, found Louis in his class. Miss Mitchell, his teacher gave a good account of him. Pronounced him a fine intelligent boy, and well behaved in school.
The room was neat, comfortable, and well arranged.

 

 

pg 026

the little boys all looking happy, and merry.
We went from there, to the little girls.room, where
I was equally pleased. The little creatures are not pinned down to their seats like prisoners, pale, and wearied; but were skipping around, combineing study and amusement, the only safe method of instructing children. Remsen, wished to remain, but I was fearfull of leaveing him, he was cross on the way home. I met Miss Miller, had a chat with her, she looks miserably, could scarcely find Tam Fisher, in her iron countenance.
Passed Mrs Phelps, she did not recognize me.
Met Henry in Canal St.
Catharine Shanly, brought home some sewing
I paid her six.shillings, for two Canton flannel night shirts. She is unhappily married, looks miserably.
Exchanged some old clothes for a little collar.
I was terribly shoved but could not get clear of the woman.
Julie, came from school, with her finger sore,
the poor child, has been a martyr to this festered
finger. I must poultice it, and try to cure
it, as her comfort is entirely destroyed.
We dined at half past three, and by the time
we get through, it is dark, so that my afternoons
are completely lost. Julie, likes to sit on my
lap, at twilight, and I love to indulge her.
Mr H. gave me “twenty five dollars”
this evening to purchase a silk dress.

I received a letter from Maria Hasbrouck,
She writes well, and is in good spirits.
This [adds] another debt to the list of unpaid letters,
which I must pay off, before the New Year over
takes me.

