0013Friday . 18 Jan./ 50.
Heavy rain falling, mild, and agreable [sic].
My nerves did not forsake me this [fragment]
I awoke when the bell had finished ringing. called the children.
G. got up rather tardily, his cold tends to sleep.
Our Cakes fine to.day, since my change of butter, every
thing tastes better.
Took a warm bath, it was truly delightfull.
Read two hours in “ Home influence”. Arranged some work
for evening my night gowns sadly out of repair. Some
shirts to mend for the boys to s___ their fine bosoms.
Expected Miss Leggitt to dine, made pies & prepared; she will
brave this storm.
Made our dinner on Soup. No company.
Mr. Fullgraff did not come to give a lesson.
Four lessons thus far omitted.

0014Saturday, 19 teenth Jan. / 50. New York.
A fine bright sunshine.
How delightfull to get in the fresh air
after a long confinement to the house. I dressed and rode up to
see mother, found her very well, and full of company, as usual.
Aunt Varick & Susan, were with her, they invited us to take tea with
them on Tuesday next. The tea party is postponed untill mother
gets stronger. Aunt Gardinier, came in to pass the day.
Mrs. Willard & Mrs. Watmore called, both in good spirits.
I returned home at one oclock, thinking to find Sarah Leggett;
She did not arrive.
Julia, had company during my absence, The Miss Woods,
Miss Grey & Wyeth. Miss Chenerys, Miss Marshall. Mr. Hale
the artist, paid her a long visit, the excuse to look at “Ugalino ”
He complimented her, on her three gold medals.
I gave Louis, some Money to purchase pictures for his Theatre.
Julia, went to dancing school with Jane.
Remson & J looked in upon the dancers for [an] half hour.
Mr Chenand , irritable, he forgets his politeness, both to scholars
and audience. I left in some haste. Louis came in after
us. Julia, not much pleased, I do not wish her to
attend this winter The lost her dinner to day
Spent our evening alone.

Sunday 20th Jan. /1850
Clear and pleasant day.
We all went to Church and were interested
by a sermon for the “ Seamen’s society.” “And the sea shall
give up it’s dead.” A most eloquent & interesting subject.
Mr. Barker called on G. just at tea hour.

