Tags

, ,

Tuesday. 10 th December. /50.
0106-copyClear day, but cold.
I went with Maria to buy furs.
Felt the cold on my return. M. changed her tippet.
Catharine , came in, gave me a great shock. Told
me H. wife, two children had arrived, from the South.
Henry came in, had told Mr H. the history of H.
My hand trembled, could scarcely sign a paper he brought
me. How miserably I felt, know one can ever know.
Maria suspected something was the matter with me.
I cried on G.’s neck that evening, he was kind then.
Benjamin, dined with us. brought his Turkeys.
Isabell [sic] called to see me, or rather Maria H. [ ] called.
Dorothea Brinckerhoff, Deborah, Mrs [Brown], & Swherin, Miss Lawrence & brother.

Wednesday. 11 th Decem. /50.
A fine day, snow threatening.
I rode to Chelsea with Maria.
Mother & Pa much cast down, we cheered them by our presence.
I told Maria H. his story on my return.
Garret took Benjamin to hear the Christys.
Isabella dined with us to.day. Ferdinand came in
late to tea. They were full of life; took beer in sport.
Benjamin, had to treat.800px-christy_minstrels_boston_public_library


Christy’s Minstrels, sometimes referred to as the Christy Minstrels, were a blackface group formed by Edwin Pearce Christy, a well-known ballad singer, in 1843,[1] in Buffalo, New York. They were instrumental in the solidification of the minstrel show into a fixed three-act form.[2] The troupe also invented or popularized “the line”, the structured grouping that constituted the first act of the standardized 3-act minstrel show, with the interlocutor in the middle and “Mr. Tambo” and “Mr. Bones” on the ends. (Wikepedia)

