Tags

Tuesday. 17. December. 1850.
0108-copyClear and blustering.
Maria [Hasbrouck]left us to.day.
We all accompanied her to the boat, and found her trip up
the river would be lonely, and cold. She seemed timid, but
G. hurried us off home, so we left her to her fate.

Wednesday. 18. Decem. /50.

Thursday. 19.

Friday. 20th December /1850.

Saturday. 21st December. /50.
Very cold, but clear.
Catharine came down to go with me
to call on Mrs L. [Lawrence] and husband [Horace] from “Key west.”
18 years have changed him so much, I hardly could think
the same person stood before me. She is good looking,
and very pleasant. He seemed very gay, unconcerned
and full of martial importance. Why had I passed
the last fortnight grieving for this gay couple!! I could
wish for less feeling, it wears out my system.
Called on Bell [Isabel Lawrence, Ferdinand’s wife], then rode up home. C. went with them to the “art [Union]”.

