January. 1st /1851. New York. 19. Charlton Street
0114-copyWednesday. 1st A fine day. Snow on the ground;
enough for sleighing.
I prepared our tables & rooms, then
made my toilette. Julia dressed, and looked very sweet.
We had a fine display of good things oysters & jelly wetre
the favorite refreshment.
Our list of calls, was up to 42. Many recreant [knights]
of course. I called the house before ten oclock.
Garret kept his room; Brown went up to see him on
business.
Louis & the two Remsens, gave me some trouble, they would
over eat themselves.
I pondered the girls their dresses. They had calls.
My day was not as happy, as it seemed, for thoughts,
of other days, unclouded, came before me. Yet I was
thankfull for all that remained to me, the changeing
love, the weakened frame must come. I was happy
in the young & pretty being, at my side.

