New York. 19 Charlton St.
Thursday. 1st of May. /1851.
Clear and bright. Some dull clouds before night.
More moveing [sic] than usual to.day.
Some of our neighbours leave us for Chelsea, Mr and Mrs Darling.
I went to the Dentist, saw [Mr Dunning], he wedged my front teeth, wished me to call on Saturday, but appointed Monday
for my sitting. Took jelly at Wellers; came home through Spring Street.
Rode to Stewarts after dinner with Julia, she bought a white chine silk, a beautiful pattern, 11 yd./2 at 12 shill, per yd.
Two pair Lilac kid gloves. 4 shillings. The silk is far too much dress for so young a girl, but her father spoils her by allowing her taste, to set aside my better judgement [sic].
I fear it will be a punishment to her in after life.
Susan’s trunks were on the carriage, to start
for school, we did not see her, to bid good.bye.
_____________________________________________
Several articles about Stewarts Department Store:

New York Times

Alexander Turney Stewart

ALEXANDER TURNEY STEWART, FATHER OF THE DEPARTMENT STORE

 

