Sunday. 15 June. 1851.

Cool, pleasant day.
We all went to Church. Maria and
Cate, both unfit as they coughed very much.
Mr H. gave a begging Sermon for the mission abroad. Garret
was much incensed; declaring he would not go again to the
Church. Where is the Christian Spirit, he recommends to
others, at the Ridge, and so forth. “God loves a cheerful giver”.
I went with M. after dinner, Louis and Remsen also.
Cate, and Julia went to “St Peters” with “Aunt Cate”.
The invalids better. Mother had been in the morning.
I wrote a Composition for Julia, on the “Worlds Fair”. It
is her last, and should have been genuine. But time
seemed to demand my effort. The production was not
very good.
G went to hear Mr Bellows. Mr Osgood preached.

Monday. 16 June. 1851.
Cold and blustering.
Clouds and frost in
both my horizons; the sunshine of good humour has
flown. I must try and dispel the clouds.

Maria H. gave Cate pills for her cough, very foolishly.
We rode up to call on Mrs Priestly and Miss Offly. They were
out, at the celebration of “Trinity Church”.
We sat an hour with Mrs Leggett, she seems feeble. Debby.
Ann, surprised us by her presence.
Returned home. I slept an hour before dinner. too sound.
Had fire built in the basement room.
Garret rode out with Remsen; he is as chilling as the weather.
Maria laughs at him, for his want of courtesy, to the fair,
She went to Mrs Bloodgoods with Julia; then to Chelsea.
I took Cate with me to see Mrs Berger. Bought her a ring. very
pretty for $1.50. She must prize the motive “faith hope & charity”.